Insert Grace Here…

…finding grace to help in the time of need…

Gustav Aftermath

Quick update…I’m at my mother-in-law’s and the internet is in and out.  We are fine.  We have no electricity and it may be a while with many lines down around our home.  We do have a generator as of yesterday.

We have a little structural damage–a few shingles missing, fence leaning, etc.  But we are fine.

We are realizing how blessed or should I say “spoiled” we are.  I had full intentions to keep my spirit focused and not cave in.  My two oldest daughters went to their grandparents house (father’s parents) the day after Gustav visited since their power was back on.  After a day or so of boredom for them, they were calling and sending text messages about the curfew and how bored they were.

I was rather short with them to say the least.  Although it was anticipated, I was smug about their “boredom”.  All the while I was oblivious (or at least pretended to be) to my crabiness that spewed everywhere I went.  By the end of the day, Cammie sent a couple of texts to me asking if she could drive to Hammond the next day to pick up a friend who would otherwise have to stay there longer.  Her first message came through with the last word “I’ll” only leaving the “i”.  The second message continued with no apostrophe and two “l’s”  My cool font on my new phone had the two “l’s” looking like a “u”.  I thought her second message said, “u can (well actually, there was no “can”, I thought it was implied) def (definitely) use my car….”.  To sum it up, I thought she inadvertently sent the second message to me instead of the friend she was to rescue.  Therefore, I thought she was going to allow this friend to borrow her car post-Gustav, with lights down, major traffic, you get the point.  Instead, her message was saying, “ill def use my car but you can come with me if you feel better…..”.

After calling her and yelling, “NO ONE is using your car.  I don’t know what you’re trying to pull but that message was sent to me.”

She began to TRY to tell me that she did not know what I was talking about.  I tell her it said “U” (can) use my car.  She tells me it was not supposed to did it REALLY say that?  I think she’s pulling a Sophie so I hang up on her.  The poor kid must’ve took a second to review her texts before calling me back.

After much explaining, I finally got the picture.  She repeatedly told me, “MOM, you KNOW I would NEVER let anyone use my car!”

It was a real lesson.  My holier than thou attitude crumbled.

We are clearly a bit stressed.  We did lose everything in our refrigerator.  But again, we were blessed.  That can all be replaced.  Now we are trying to move forward, praying that there is little or NO flooding here and Ike and Josephine stay away, or better yet, dwindle to nothing.

Please continue to pray for us.  I will post updates as much as possible.  There are many people in our area and entire state in desperate need.

I will try to be specific about those prayer needs when I post again.

Many thanks,

Rena

4 Comments»

  Rachel wrote @

Sorry about the fridge. I know how incredibly frustrating it is to lose that much food!

Hope you guys get your power back on soon! And I totally agree regarding Ike & Josephine (though it doesn’t look like Ike is listening!)

  Enjoyer of the Journey wrote @

I am keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers each evening. I can’t imagine how stressful a time like this is for everyone down south. Know that our Heavenly Father will see to it that through these environmental acts of tyranny you and your family are given steadfast provision by him. This weather, for whatever reasons we are unsure, is meant to happen, and from it blessed things will come. They may not come now, but the Lord will be certain they come in due time.

  Greater Than Gustav « Insert Grace Here… wrote @

[…] the day, running to and fro for food, hot water and a bit of sanity all fed our frustration.  Teens were wrongly accused.  And I thought I lost mind at one point.  When Sophie first threw up in the car (there were two […]

  We are Still Trusting! | Here’s My Cup Lord wrote @

[…] keep my husband’s parents, my parents, my sister Rena, and all of our families in […]


Leave a Reply

