Insert Grace Here…

…finding grace to help in the time of need…

Sincerely ‘Fro Me to You- ’80s Permed Prom ‘Fro

  

 

Okay….get up off of the floor….. it’s not THAT funny!  This was 198something.  Actually, it was 1988.  I had graduated the year before- 1987.  This was my boyfriend’s (and now ex-husband…not that that has any relevance at all to this post.) Junior Prom.  That’s right!  Two years younger than me!  Hey!  Go easy….he’s the father of my oldest two!  Anyway, I didn’t get asked to my Junior Prom.  Or my Senior Prom.  Heavy sigh.

I just hope my friend doesn’t stumble upon this and um, tie me up and perm my hair for posting this pic.  Oh, I shiver at the thought!  Permed hair.  Oh THATmama, I know YOU understand!

The blue shimmery tinfoil-looking material would be lame.  Royal blue lame.  That’s lu-ma, with a long a, not lame, people.  Assymetrical.  With lots of layers.  And the ‘do?  Wellllll….permed ‘fro with lots of teasing!  The above picture sorta cut it off…so….just for you…I’ll add another…

….it’s dark…but you get the “picture”…the hair anyway?

Good times!  Good times!

And that’s “Sincerely “fro Me to You!”  😉

 For more of Sincerely ‘fro Me to You, go to weareTHATfamily or click on the button at the top of this post.

23 Comments»

  Kelsey wrote @

Oh I think you look adorable!

  insertgracehere wrote @

Thanks, Kelsey! 😉

  We are THAT family wrote @

Ahhh . . . the shimmery blue permed moments of our past. I love the ‘fro. It’s beautimus.

Thanks for making us roll on the floor laughing, I mean, sharing!

  LifeatTheCircus wrote @

While I was not quite ready for prom in 87… being still in Elem School and all, I remember my cousin, whom I looked up to and adored, wearing very similar hair and very similar dress to her prom. You were in good company!

  Well Behaved Krissy wrote @

yep, this is just a frothy cup of blue and shimmer goodness. 🙂

  Muthering Heights wrote @

LOL, you know how to work the shimmer!

  Happy Mommy wrote @

It looks as if you and your friend have shared the same material for the dress…
Lovely big perm.

  Dawn wrote @

Now~ I loved those dresses!

  insertgracehere wrote @

Happy Mommy….we didn’t share the same material. It just happened that way! Amazing, huh? Two royal blue shimmery dresses!

  Rambling Rose wrote @

I had a dress much like that. My friend had one much shinier in silver… lame. Who in the world thought up lame anyway?

I’ve got a Sincerely Fro’ post today too, here:
Rose Cottage

  Domestic Spaz wrote @

Just wow… that is one heck of a dress… and a fro… 🙂 You’re like the picture perfect 80s girl. LOL!

  Becoming Me wrote @

You look so cute. Fun pix.

  Big Hair Envy wrote @

How much Aqua Net did it take to keep your hair like that? I usually averaged a can and a half per formal event. Those bangs don’t just stay up like that on their own 🙂

  Janel wrote @

Oh, it brings back some fond memories for sure!!!

  Ginger wrote @

Sincerely fro’ your lil’ sis, ditch the dress okay! The pics don’t do justice! You were beautiful!!!! Wasn’t I about 16 then? Shhh! I won’t tell your b-day is coming reaaal soon… Ha!

  Tammy wrote @

Wow, the hair is fab but THOSE dresses. Oh those dresses! So shiny!

  Valarie in AL wrote @

Wow blue was a very popular color back then for prom dresses. I remember my sister having one that color. 🙂

  The Apron Queen wrote @

Oh my. I had a dress just ike that. Shh don’t tell anyone. 🙂

For your daily dose of vintage goodness & a bit of silliness, stop by Confessions of an Apron Queen

[…] changing her life.  Robin and I were friends as teenagers.  You can see the 80’s Robin here.  We were recently reunited after Robin’s 20th high school […]

[…] changing her life.  Robin and I were friends as teenagers.  You can see the 80’s Robin here.  We were recently reunited after Robin’s 20th high school […]

[…] changing her life.  Robin and I were friends as teenagers.  You can see the 80’s Robin here.  We were recently reunited after Robin’s 20th high school […]

  black celebs wrote @

Sign: wdpad Hello!!! fvwdg and 485xqeypkqaet and 803 : I love your blog. 🙂 I just came across your blog.

  celebrity fuck you wrote @

Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! wvwrt and 5570fsfquxspts and 7423 : I like your blog. cool post!


Leave a Reply

