Insert Grace Here…

…finding grace to help in the time of need…

I am Slumberwoman, hear me snore!

I heart eye masks. 

A bit of random information.  I absolutely MUST sleep with an eye mask.  It was around eight years ago that I was introduced to my first eye mask.  And all thanks to my sister-in-law.  I still have that worn out eye mask.  Worn out though it may be, it’s a very cushy eye mask with a velcro strap to adjust it around your head and a handy little pocket to put ear plugs in.  I heart ear plugs.

I’ve accumulated a few more eye masks since that first glorious mask entered my life.  In fact, I asked Joe to fill my stocking this past Christmas with eye masks.  That’s right!  I needed enough to wear a different one every day of the week.  These things need to be washed, people.  This took me a while to realize.  I know, I know.  But it just covers my eyes.  How was I supposed to know I needed to wash it.  But if that’s not exciting enough for you…

…here’s something else…  Some days (The Preacher’s Wife will be glad to know this) I don’t get dressed until after noon.  (NOT every day, people, just some days.)  Sometimes much later.  I KNOW!  Sad.  Sometimes, if I’m just hanging around the house for the day I will literally only change sometime before bed when if I take a shower and then put on another set of pajamas.  (Oh, Preacher’s Wife, I’m your new friend, huh?) Oh not often…really.  But the reallllly interesting thing is… sometimes, when the day has ticked on… I forget that I’m still wearing my eye mask.  And then, I walk into the bathroom and notice something in the mirror out of the corner of my eye.  Something on my forehead.  OR someone happens to come by and when I open the door I notice their eyes trying so desperately hard not to look up at my forehead and then I remember.

But it gets better.  When I do decide to remove the mask from my forehead, I not only feel horrible withdrawals from having such cushyness on my forehead, I have eye mask hair.  Oh, it’s sorta’ like helmet hair.  Just make sure you don a hat if you decide to try this at home and then need to leave the house.

It’s really not so embarrassing.  In fact, it kinda’ makes me look feel like a Superhero.  Yep, Slumberwoman!  That’s me!  I am Slumberwoman, hear me snore! 

‘Cept I don’t snore.  Nope, that would be Joe- before- before he had his tonsils and adnoids removed.  Amazing surgery, by the way!  Really….horrible, horrible snoring pretty much stopped.  Saved our marriage!  Really!  That, and ear plugs. 😉  Did I tell you I love ear plugs, too? 

So now you know.  You know that I like sound and light blocked when I sleep.  I’m a light sleeper.  Oh, I still hear Sophie, don’t you worry.  Now if I can just get my mind to shut off…

This is one of my favorites…

I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep:  for thou, Lord, only makest me dwell in safety.  Psalm 4:8

Oh…nature sounds…. nature sounds play allll night.  In fact, we NEVER turn it off in our bedroom.  That’s right, rain would be the sound we sleep to.  It’s better than snoring.  I prefer ocean waves.  I LOVE the ocean.  But Joe, well, guess rain makes him sleep better.  So there you have it.  A good night’s sleep for me includes an eye mask, ear plugs, nature sounds, NO snoring, and…. well, a talk with Jesus- that would be the most important.

 

2 Comments»

  Laura wrote @

I think I caught a glimpse of Slumberwoman last night (or perhaps her counterpart?) – she might heart eyemasks, but I’m not sure she could say “I heart bras”… 😛 Not sure, just sayin’… whaddaya think?

lala

  insertgracehere wrote @

Oh Laura, isn’t it great to just relax among friends? With a robe, I mean….


Leave a Reply

